New Children's Playaways

New arrivals added to our Children's Playaways Collection in the last 7 days

View all on one page

RSS

Sign up for new Children's Playaways emails

Title Date added
Billy Miller Makes a Wish by Henkes, Kevin, author. Billy Miller Makes a Wish

The companion to the bestselling Newbery Honor Book The Year of Billy Miller. A humorous and accessible new novel follows second grader Billy Miller and his family through an eventful summer. A must-have for fans of Ramona, Clementine, and Judy Moody.

Sep 16, 2021
Brian's Hunt by Paulsen, Gary, author. Brian's Hunt

Millions of readers of Hatchet, The River, Brian's Winter, and Brian's Return know that Brian Robeson is at home in the Canadian wilderness. He has stood up to the challenge of surviving alone in the woods. He prefers being on his own in the natural world to civilization. When Brian finds a dog one night, a dog that is wounded and whimpering, he senses danger. The dog is badly hurt, and as Brian cares for it, he worries about his Cree friends who live north of his camp. His instincts tell him t

Sep 16, 2021
Brian's Return by Paulsen, Gary, author. Brian's Return

As millions of readers of Hatchet, The River, and Brian's Winter know, Brian Robeson survived alone in the wilderness by finding solutions to extraordinary challenges. But now that's he's back in civilization, he can't find a way to make sense of high school life. He feels disconnected, more isolated than he did alone in the North. The only answer is to return-to "go back in"-for only in the wilderness can Brian discover his true path in life, and where he belongs. From the Paperback edition.

Sep 16, 2021
Brian's Winter by Paulsen, Gary, author. Brian's Winter

In Hatchet, 13-year-old Brian Robeson learned to survive alone in the Canadian wilderness, armed only with his hatchet. Finally, as millions of readers know, he was rescued at the end of the summer. But what if Brian hadn't been rescued? What if he had been left to face his deadliest enemy--winter? Gary Paulsen raises the stakes for survival in this riveting and inspiring story as one boy confronts the ultimate test and the ultimate adventure. From the Paperback edition.

Sep 16, 2021
Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls by Rivera, Kaela, author. Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls

When a powerful desert spirit kidnaps her sister, Cece Rios must learn forbidden magic to get her back in this ownvoices middle grade fantasy perfect for fans of Storm Runner and Aru Shah and the End of Time.

Sep 16, 2021
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation by Gibbs, Stuart, author. Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation

From New York Times bestselling author Stuart Gibbs comes the first novel in a thrilling new series about the world's youngest and smartest genius who's forced to use her unbelievable code-breaking skills to outsmart Einstein. Charlie Thorne is a genius. Charlie Thorne is a thief. Charlie Thorne isn't old enough to drive. And now it's up to her to save the world Decades ago, Albert Einstein devised an equation that could benefit all life on earth-or destroy it. Fearing what would happen if the

Sep 16, 2021
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City by Gibbs, Stuart, author. Charlie Thorne and the Lost City

In this sequel to the New York Times bestselling Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation-which #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Grabenstein called "a real page-burner"-Charlie searches for Charles Darwin's hidden treasure in South America. Charlie Thorne is a genius. Charlie Thorne is a fugitive. Charlie Thorne isn't even thirteen. After saving the world, Charlie is ready to take it easy in the Galapagos Islands. That is, until she's approached by the mysterious Esmeralda Castle, who has

Sep 16, 2021
Final Season by Green, Tim, author. Final Season

From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a gripping, deeply personal standalone football novel about a star middle school quarterback faced with a life-changing decision after his dad is diagnosed with ALS/Lou Gehrig's disease.

Sep 16, 2021
From the Desk of Zoe Washington by Marks, Janae, author. From the Desk of Zoe Washington

With equal parts mystery and heart, this middle grade debut by Janae Marks follows Zoe Washington after she receives an unexpected letter on her twelfth birthday from the incarcerated father shes never met and her courageous journey to uncover the truth about his crime. Perfect for fans ofFront DeskandAll Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook!.

Sep 16, 2021
Greystone Secrets #2- The Deceivers by Haddix, Margaret Peterson, author. Greystone Secrets #2- The Deceivers

In the second book in the Greystone Secrets series by bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix,The Deceivers, the three Greystone siblings and their friend Natalie Morales go to the alternate world, a place where truth is illegal, to rescue their mothers. This middle-grade thriller from the master of suspense, Margaret Peterson Haddix, continues the twisty and suspenseful story of the Greystone kids and examines the power of the truthor a lieto alter lives, society, and even an entire reality

Sep 16, 2021
Greystone Secrets #3- The Messengers by Haddix, Margaret Peterson, author. Greystone Secrets #3- The Messengers

In the dazzling conclusion to the Greystone Secrets series from New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix, the Greystones and their doubles, the Gustanos, must team up to save the alternate worldbefore both worlds are lost. All secrets are revealed in this page-turning, suspenseful story that shows the importance of teamwork, telling your story, and taking action when it matters most.

Sep 16, 2021
Judy Moody Declares Independence by McDonald, Megan, author. Judy Moody Declares Independence

Hear ye! Hear ye! Everyone knows that Judy Moody has a mood for every occasion, and now a visit to Boston has put our famous third grader in a revolutionary mood. When Judy meets an English girl named Tori at the Tea Party ship, she is gobsmacked to learn how many liberties her British friend enjoys - her very own phone, private loo, and pounds of allowance. When a day of cheerfully doing her chores doesn't earn Judy Moody more rights, and staging a revolt in the form of a tea-throwing Boston Tu

Sep 16, 2021
Judy Moody, M.D. - The Doctor Is In! by McDonald, Megan, author. Judy Moody, M.D. - The Doctor Is In!

The fifth installment in the popular and best-selling series starring independent-minded third-grader, Judy Moody. Judy emulates her heroine, Elizabeth Blackwell, first woman doctor.

Sep 16, 2021
Judy Moody- In a Monday Mood by McDonald, Megan, author. Judy Moody- In a Monday Mood

For anyone who has ever had the Sunday night blues, Judy declares that every day can be a holiday if you just find something to celebrate. Happy National Eat Ice Cream for Breakfast Day, anyone? Crumbs! Why cant every day be Saturday? Judy Moody is Monday-morning mopey. Another week in her same-old seat at her same-old desk in her same-old school. Even worse, there arent any days off from school for ages. But when she steps into Class 3T, Judys Monday frown turns upside down. Pop! Pop! Pop-pop-p

Sep 16, 2021
Merci Suarez Can't Dance by Medina, Meg, author. Merci Suarez Can't Dance

In Meg Medinas follow-up to her Newbery Medalwinning novel, Merci takes on seventh grade, with all its travails of friendship, family, loveand finding your rhythm. Seventh grade is going to be a real trial for Merci Suarez. For science shes got no-nonsense Mr. Ellis, who expects her to be a smart as her brother, Roli. Shes been assigned to co-manage the tiny school store with Wilson Bellevue, a boy she barely knows, but whom she might actually like. And shes tangling again with classmate Edna Sa

Sep 16, 2021
Scary Stories Audio Collection by Schwartz, Alvin, author. Scary Stories Audio Collection

The iconic anthology series of horror tales that's now a feature film!Walking corpses, dancing bones, knife-wielding madmen, and narrow escapes from death-they're all here in this chilling collection of ghost stories, collected and retold by folklorist Alvin Schwartz. These horrific tales are guaranteed to raise goosebumps. Let the faint of heart beware.Pull up a chair, find a hand to hold, and prepare to be horrified.This collection includes all three of Alvin Schwartz's classic story collectio

Sep 16, 2021
Scary Stories for Young Foxes by McKay Heidicker, Christian, author. Scary Stories for Young Foxes

Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship. "Clever and harrowing." The Wall Street Journal "Into the finest tradition of storytelling steps Christian McKay Heidicker with these highly original, bone-chilling, and ultimately heart-warming stories. All thats needed is a blazing campfire and a delicious plate of peaches and centipedes. Ka

Sep 16, 2021
Set Me Free by LeZotte, Ann Clare, author. Set Me Free

Three years after being kidnapped as a "live specimen" in a cruel experiment to determine the cause of her deafness, Mary Lambert has grown weary of domestic life on Martha's Vineyard, and even of her once beloved writing. So when an old acquaintance summons her to an isolated manor house outside Boston to teach a young deaf girl to communicate, Mary agrees. But can a child of eight with no prior language be taught? And is Mary up to the task? With newfound purpose, Mary arrives only to discover

Sep 16, 2021
Sisters of the Neversea by Smith, Cynthia Leitich Sisters of the Neversea

Sep 16, 2021
Tales of Sorcery... by Colfer, Chris Tales of Sorcery...

Sep 16, 2021

Pages